GEARY SCHOOL BOARD SPECIAL MEETING STEGALL LONG FIELD HOUSE 421 SW EMBREE TUESDAY, AUGUST 27TH, 2020 @ 6:00 p.m.

The Board of Education, District I-080 met in Special Session at the Stegall Long Field House, 421 S.W. Embree, Geary, Oklahoma, 73040. Tuesday, August 27th, 2020 at 6:00 p.m. There being a quorum present, the meeting was called to order by Board President Jason Bernhardt.

The Geary Board of Education has complied with the Open Public Meeting Law.

Notice of this meeting was posted on August 26th, 2020 at 10:30 a.m. at The Stegall Long Field House, 421 SW Embree, Geary, Oklahoma 73040 Geary High School, 300 S. Blaine, Geary, Oklahoma 73040 and Geary Elementary School, 221 S. Galena, Geary, Oklahoma 73040, by the Minutes Clerk Tammie Brack and on gearyschools.org

The following members were present: Scott Hicks, Jason Bernhardt, Andy Smith and Cecil Harrall. Minutes Clerk Tammie Brack were also present.

Visitors at the meeting were: Lee Posey, Afton Jameson, Sarah Phillips, Virginia Lou Richey and Charlene Wright. Also in attendance and recording the meeting for Geary Schools: Cody McPherson, Connor Bernhardt, and Tucker Hicks.

Andy Smith made the motion, seconded by Cecil Harrall to move to Executive Session at 6:00 p.m. inviting: Virginia Lou Richey, Sarah Phillips, Afton Jameson and Lee Posey to join them pursuant to Title 25 O.S. § 307 (B)(1) and 70 O.S. § 5-118, of the Oklahoma Statutes for the purpose of discussing the following items: Proposed executive session to discuss the appointment of an individual and/or interview candidates for vacant school board seat #3. Those voting were: Andy Smith, yes; Scott Hicks, yes; Jason Bernhardt, yes; and Cecil Harrall, yes. Motion carried 4-0.

Jason Bernhardt read the executive session compliance announcement: The Board of Education went into executive session at 6:00 p.m. inviting Virginia Lou Richey, Sarah Phillips, Afton Jameson and Lee Posey to join them pursuant to Title 25 O.S. § 307 (B)(1) and 70 O.S. § 5-118, of the Oklahoma Statutes for the purpose of discussing the following items: Proposed executive session to discuss the appointment of an individual and/or interview candidates for vacant school board seat #3. The board returned to open session at 7:45 p.m. The Board discussed these items and no other items. This

constitutes the minutes of the executive session. No action was taken at this time. All members in attendance were present during executive session.

The Board was in agreement that all the candidates were good candidates and had the students best interest at heart. They also agreed that any one of them that was not appointed could run for election.

Cecil Harrall made the motion, seconded by Jason Bernhardt to approve the appointment of Virginia Lou Richey for vacant school board seat #3. Those voting were: Cecil Harrall, Yes; Scott Hicks, No; Jason Bernhardt, Yes; and Andy Smith, No. Motion Failed 2-2.

Andy Smith made the motion, seconded by Scott Hicks to approve the appointment of Sarah Phillips for vacant school board seat #3. Those voting were: Cecil Harrall, Abstain; Scott Hicks, Yes; Jason Bernhardt, Abstain; and Andy Smith, Yes. Motion Failed 2-2.

Scott Hicks made the motion, seconded by Cecil Harrall to adjourn the meeting at 7:52 p.m. Those voting were: Scott Hicks, yes; Cecil Harrall, yes; Andy Smith, yes and Jason Bernhardt, yes. Motion carried 4-0.

| Board President | Board Clerk | |
|-----------------|-------------|--|